fbpx

artgym

为什么你今天要放弃头脑风暴, 接受创造性的合作?

2018年12月19日

Posted By artgym

让我们今天结束头脑风暴的沉迷。头脑风暴 (通常) 不是 (通常) 神奇的匹克尘埃, 自发地产生创造性的, 创新的想法, 改变企业。团队需要创造性地进行协作, 有五个很好的论点--五个 c--为什么头脑风暴不能做到这一点: 1. 好奇心;2. 争议;3. 勇气;4. 复杂性;和5。工艺。

艺术健身房首席执行官尤金·休斯在他的文章中说: "十多年来, 我对推动商业创造力的因素进行了广泛的研究, 我可以自信地宣称, 大多数头脑风暴和创意研讨会对创造力的抑制超过了它们所能实现的程度。 禁止头脑风暴的五大理由.

这并不像听起来那么有争议。60年来–是的 头脑风暴的第一次经验测试是在1958年 在耶鲁大学--研究发现, 头脑风暴会议并不能提供大量奇妙的想法--通常情况正好相反。然而, 在合适的环境中, 只要有正确的技能来解锁, 团体就能而且将非常有创意和有效地进行合作。

北卡罗来纳大学教育教授 r. keith sawyer 博士在他的报告中说: "几十年的研究一直表明, 头脑风暴小组认为的想法远远少于同样数量的独自工作, 后来又汇集了他们的想法的人。2007年书 团体天才.

头脑风暴的起源

但首先让我们向房间里的大象讲话。

那么, 事实证明, 在需要新想法的情况下, 对管理者和团队领导如此持久的上瘾, 头脑风暴又有什么意义呢?

头脑风暴的先驱是 亚历克斯·奥斯本, 广告公司合伙人 b. b. d. o。他1948年的著作《你的创造力》描述了他将如何聚集广告人的队伍, 通过自发地激发想法来冲击一个创造性的问题 ' 突击队 ' 风格。

你可以理解为什么这听起来很有说服力。

问题是, 在上世纪 4 0 年代, 麦迪逊大道上一些最有创意、最有创意、最自信、最高薪的人, 在你的企业中, 不一定会和一群不习惯创造性思维的凡人合作呢?多年后。

为什么头脑风暴不能提供创造性的协作

在现实世界中, 有了真正的团队, 领导者可以以更有创意、更有效、更有成效、更具吸引力和包容性的方式促进和促进协作, 而不是肆无忌惮的头脑风暴会议。

尤金·休斯解释说: "团队领导要掌握创造性合作的艺术, 就必须停止依赖有时间限制、有外向偏见的想法工厂, 并开始培育创造性合作能够蓬勃发展的工作文化。

"大脑是一个社会器官, 通过来自其他大脑的联系和挑战而蓬勃发展。如果做得好, 创造性的合作将推动创新、转型和增长, 使企业能够以消费者所需的不懈速度不断创新。但这需要比头脑风暴更复杂、更娴熟的方法, "他补充道。

释放这种创造力需要一个具有特殊技能的领导者或促进者。艺术体育学院创意协作文凭课程的认可毕业生所拥有的。


另请参见:


五个 c:五个很好的理由头脑风暴不能提供创造性的合作

尤金·休斯说, 团队领导应该放弃头脑风暴, 开始掌握创造性合作的艺术, 有五个原因:

好奇心

正如许多商业书籍所宣称的那样, 创造力不能归结为一套技巧。这是一种存在的方式: 一种通过执着的好奇心和惊奇感与世界接触的方式。没有好奇心, 思想就会过时。从神经上讲, 好奇心是通过外部感官刺激触发的。作为神经学家 路易斯·科佐利诺 断言, 头脑, 大脑和身体交织在一起。

但在头脑风暴和车间的旋风中, 人们关注的焦点是具有有限空间和好奇心刺激的认知思维。因此, 团队领导必须创造鼓励和激发好奇心的工作环境, 而不是强迫人们在无菌环境中理想化。敬畏的感觉比高压锅的情况更能激发人们的才华。

争议

创造力需要创造性的思想。独创性来自于边缘、边缘和意想不到的东西。它与目前的粮食不同, 而且与目前的粮食背道而驰。这是有争议的。想想伟大的艺术, 一开始它冲击着, 然后需要时间去被别人理解和欣赏。事实上, 最初的阻力往往是独创性的表现。

在头脑风暴和研讨会上, 一个伟大的想法往往很容易被这个组织否定或误解: 一个真正的辉煌在一个废弃的后音符上失去了。不幸的是, 协商一致意见因争议而受到重视。团队领导需要改变这一点, 开始鼓励对共识的争议。

勇气

创新需要勇气。而在组织中, 这需要集体勇气。有广泛的研究表明, 群体中的权力动态如何导致 "群体思维", 压制差异和不满的声音。"小心优秀的团队", 每个人都同意, 但没有什么真正辉煌的实现。关键对话应庆祝, 而不应仅限于固定的空间和时间。团队领导需要想办法在鼓励建设性辩论的同时, 让每个人都感到说话的安全和舒服, 从而搅动火锅。

复杂性

每个人的创作过程都是独一无二的。虽然有共同的特点, 但不可能将人的创造力集中到一个线性过程中。集体创造力远比这复杂得多。企业不喜欢这样, 更愿意让事情变得简单。但期待在创作过程中与每个人在同一时刻进入头脑风暴, 希望精彩的想法出现, 最多只能说是一种高风险的策略, 最多只能说是一种妄想。不同的东西对不同的人有效, 团队也是如此。团队领导需要与他们的团队合作, 尝试多种方法来激发团队的集体创造力, 并找到对他们有效的方法。

工艺

创造力远不止是思想。想想一个米开朗基罗不厌其烦地把他的想象塑造成现实的世界吧。那么, 当我们需要在工作的各个方面应用创造力时, 为什么我们要把创作过程分成头脑风暴和研讨会呢?即使是偷看土豆也可以是一种创造性的行为, 如果你以这种方式拥抱它的话。很多 ' 小 c ' 的创造力都会对团队表现产生很大的影响。鼓励您的团队将其创造力应用于他们所做的一切, 不仅是您提供的产品和服务、您使用的流程和系统, 还包括您的合作方式、您的思考、行为和沟通方式。


如果你想学习如何释放团体的创造力, 可以考虑艺术体育学院高级文凭 促进创造性合作, 这是创意合作领导者的第一个完全认可的资格。


标题照片是由原始照片 复活节岛 通过 阿里安·兹韦格斯 通过 flickr。演讲泡沫和文字是由艺术健身房添加的。

其他相关文章

我们的领先经验改变你生活的5种方式

2019年5月14日

罗伯特·弗罗斯特可能走的路少了,但是当有15条少走的路时,你怎么办?

神经科学与创造力

2019年4月11日

由凯蒂·帕蒂森和凌贤谭 - 艺术高级文凭参与者最近,LinkedIn学习调查看着...

为什么创造性的合作是工作和工作未来的核心--五个原因

2019年2月11日

世界经济论坛 (WEF) 2018 年未来就业报告确定了工人在 ...

artgym

Latest News

Why you should quit brainstorming today and embrace creative collaboration

19 December 2018

Posted By artgym

Let’s end the addiction to brainstorming, today. Brainstorming is not (usually) the magic pixie dust that spontaneously generates creative, innovative ideas that transforms businesses. Teams need to collaborate creatively and there are five good arguments – the five Cs – why brainstorming doesn’t deliver that: 1. curiosity; 2. controversy; 3. courage; 4. complexity; and 5. craftsmanship.

“Having extensively researched what drives creativity in business for over a decade, I can confidently proclaim that most brainstorms and creative workshops inhibit creativity more than they enable it,” says Eugene Hughes, Artgym CEO in his article Five Reasons to Ban Brainstorms.

This is not as controversial as it may sound. For 60 years – yes the first empirical test of brainstorming was in 1958 at Yale University – research studies have found that Brainstorming sessions do not deliver an abundance of fantastic ideas – often, the opposite is the case. However in the right environment, with the right skills to unlock it, groups can and will collaborate very creatively and effectively.

“Decades of research have consistently shown that brainstorming groups think of far fewer ideas than the same number of people who work alone and later pool their ideas,” declares Dr. R. Keith Sawyer, a professor of education at the University of North Carolina, in his 2007 book Group Genius.

The origins of brainstorming

But first let’s address the elephant in the room.

So what is it about brainstorming that has proved so enduring addictive to managers and team leaders when faced with need for new ideas?

The pioneer of brainstorming was Alex Osborn, a partner in the advertising agency B.B.D.O. His 1948 book “Your Creative Power” described how he would amass of squad of admen to storm a creative problem ‘commando’ style by spontaneously firing in ideas.

You can understand why that sounds compelling.

The problem is what works for a group of the some of the most creative, innovative, self-assured and highly paid people on Madison Avenue in the 1940s, isn’t necessarily going to work with a group of mere mortals, unaccustomed to creative thinking, in your business 70 years later.

Why brainstorming does not deliver creative collaboration

In the real world, with teams of real people, leaders can facilitate and foster collaboration in a more creative, effective, productive, engaging and inclusive manner, than unbridled brainstorming sessions can.

“For Team Leaders to master the art of creative collaboration they must stop relying on time-boxed, extrovert-biased idea factories and start nurturing working cultures where creative collaboration can flourish,” explains Eugene Hughes.

“The brain is a social organ, thriving through connection and challenge from other brains. When done well, creative collaboration fuels innovation, transformation and growth, enabling businesses to continuously innovate at the relentless speed consumers demands. But it requires a far more sophisticated and skilful approach than brainstorms,” he adds.

Unlocking this creativity requires a leader or facilitator with a special skill set. One which the accredited graduates of Artgym Academy Creative Collaboration diploma course possess.


Also see:


The five Cs: Five good reasons brainstorming does not deliver creative collaboration

There are five reasons, says Eugene Hughes, that team leaders should quit brainstorms and start mastering the art of creative collaboration:

Curiosity

Creativity cannot be boiled down to a set of techniques, as claimed in many business books. It is a way of being: a way of engaging with the world through an obsessive curiosity and sense of wonder. Without curiosity, ideas are stale. Neurologically, curiosity is triggered through external sensory stimuli. As Neuroscientist Louis Cozolino asserts, the mind, the brain and the body are interwoven.

But in the whirlwind of brainstorms and workshops, the focus is cognitive ideation with limited space and stimuli for curiosity and wonder. So rather than pushing people to ideate in sterile settings, Team Leaders must create working environments that encourage and stimulate curiosity. A sense of awe inspires brilliance far more than a pressure cooker situation.

Controversy

Creativity requires originality of thought. Originality comes from the edges, the fringes, and the unexpected. It is different to, and goes against the current grain. It is controversial. Just think of great art, at first it shocks and then takes time to be understood and appreciated by others. In fact, initial resistance is often a sign of originality.

In brainstorms and workshops, too often a great idea can easily be dismissed or misunderstood by the group: a genuine piece of brilliance lost on a discarded post-it note. Unfortunately, consensus is valued over controversy. Team Leaders need to flip this and start to encourage controversy over consensus.

Courage

Innovation takes courage. And in organisations it requires collective courage. There is extensive research to show how power dynamics in groups leads to ‘group think’, silencing voices of difference and discontent. ‘Beware the nice team’ where everyone agrees but nothing truly brilliant ever gets achieved. Critical dialogue should be celebrated and not restricted to a fixed space and time. Team Leaders need to find ways to stir the pot by encouraging constructive debate at the same time as making it feel safe and comfortable for everyone to speak out.

Complexity

Everyone’s creative process is unique. Although there are common characteristics, it is impossible to group people’s creativity into one linear process. Collective creativity is far more complex than that. Business doesn’t like this and would prefer to make it simple. But expecting to enter a brainstorm with everyone at the same point in their creative process and hope for brilliant ideas to emerge is at best a high-risk strategy, at worst delusional. Different things work for different people and it’s the same with teams. Team Leaders need to work with their team to experiment with multiple approaches to ignite the teams’ collective creativity and find what works for them.

Craftsmanship

Creativity is far more than just ideation. Consider a world where Michelangelo didn’t bother to sculpt his imaginings into reality. So why do we box the creative process into brainstorms and workshops when we need to apply creativity in every aspect of our work. Even pealing a potato can be a creative act, if you embrace it in that way. Lots of ‘small c’ creativity can make a big difference to team performance. Encourage your team to apply their creativity in everything they do, not just the products and services you provide, the processes and systems you use but also the way you work together, the way you think, behave and communicate together.


If you want to learn how to unlocking the creativity of groups, consider the Artgym Academy Advanced Diploma in Facilitating Creative Collaboration, the first fully accredited qualification for leaders of creative collaboration.


The header photo is by Original photo Easter Island by Arian Zwegers via Flickr. The speech bubbles and words were added by Artgym.

Other Related Articles

Advanced Diploma in Facilitating Creative Collaboration
Creating your
tomorrow